आज़ादी का अमृत महोत्सव
Information Bulletin 2022-23

Department of Mathematical Sciences


The department came into existence in September 1984 with its initial name ‘Department of Mathematics & Statistics’. The foundation stone of the building where the department came into existence was laid down by the then chief minister of Madhya Pradesh Shri Motilal Vora. However, from April 1999, its name has been changed to be known now onwards as the ‘Department of Mathematical Sciences’. Initially Prof. R. B. Misra (Professor & Head), Dr. C. K. Sharma (Reader), Dr. N. P. Singh and Dr. J. P. Singh (Lecturers) joined as faculty members in the year 1985. In 1989, Dr. R. N. Singh joined the department as a lecturer.  Dr. (Mrs.) Kavita Shrivastava and Dr.Akhileshwar Prasad were appointed as lecturer in the department in years 1994 and 1996 respectively. Prof. R. B. Misra had been the Vice-Chancellor of Avadh University, Faizabad during 1989-92. Prof. C. K. Sharma served as acting Vice-Chancellor of Awadhesh Pratap Singh University, Rewa in the year 2003.

The department runs MA/MSc, MPhil and PhD programmes in Mathematics.  Currently around one hundred fifty students are studying in the department. The department has made notable research contributions in the areas of Special Functions, General Relativity, Cosmology and Differential Geometry. Researchers of the department have been visiting and interacting with various research institutions of the country. The department received library grant from ‘National Board for Higher Mathematics, Mumbai’.  Around 200 research papers and articles have been published by the faculty of the department in National/International journals. The research papers of the faculty members are also cited in reference books and journals of high impact factor. Four students of the department have qualified NET/SET examination. Since the inception of the department, more than 45 students have been awarded PhD degree and over 250 students have obtained MPhil degree. 

The department received international recognition in the year 1987 when it was selected under federation scheme of the “International Centre for Theoretical Physics, Trieste (Italy)” Since then the federation was renewed annually till 1992. It provided rare opportunity to the faculty members and students of the department to visit the I.C.T.P. for the improvement of their knowledge with the financial support offered by the Centre. The department successfully organized the 65th Annual Conference of Indian Mathematical Society during Dec. 20-23 1999. Some of the notable personalities who visited the department from time to time are Prof. Franco Fava (Italy), Prof. P. C. Vaidya, Prof. Nand Lal, Prof. B. B. Sinha, Prof. K. K. Azad, Prof. J. B. Rao, Prof. Nand Kishor, Prof. K. P. Singh, Prof. S. R. Roy, Prof. H. C. Khare, Prof. David Gauld (New Zealand), Prof. A. N. Roy, Prof. T. Pati, Prof. Bill Fieldman (U. S. A.), Prof. U. C. De, Prof. M. A. Pathan, Prof. P. N. Pandey and Prof. S. D. Tripathi et al.

The department has organised Invited Talks, Workshops and Seminars to improve the knowledge of the students regarding the latest developments in the field of Mathematical Science.